School Board

​​School Boards within the Brisbane Archdiocese are Boards of pastoral governance. A model of discernment called 'sharing wisdom' has been adopted as the most appropriate form of school governance in the Archdiocese. The St Rita’s School Board listens to the wisdom of the members of their community and their own Board membership in order to know how best to lead and serve them.

The purpose of the School Board is to build, strengthen and nourish the school as part of the parish. The School Board is a structure intended to facilitate members of the school and faith community to share responsibility for the well-being of the whole of the school within the beliefs and values, teachings and traditions of the Church. The role of the Board is one of stewardship, developing the school in all its facets 'in trust' for the faith community. As stewards, the Board is called, through the Spirit, to serve the faith community by caring for and developing its school community. In this role, members of the Board are called to servant leadership, collectively accepting accountability for the school's well-being.

The School Board is accountable to the Archbishop through the Executive Director of Catholic Education. Membership of the School Board is discerned by the local faith community and commissioned by the Executive Director. The authority of the Board is not so much dependent upon a legal definition but rather on its understanding and practice of leadership and ministry in the context of Shared Wisdom. However, all involved with school Boards need to develop an understanding of their fit within Archdiocesan and Parish structures, functions and aspirations.
Accepting membership of the School Board is an acceptance of a call to the ministry of service within and for the educational enterprise of the Church. This ministry calls and requires the Board to fulfil key responsibilities.
Further information about the Key Responsibilities of the School Board may be accessed through the BCE Public Website:     Brisbane Catholic Education - Purpose and Responsibilities of School Boards
​The St Rita's School Board members are – ​
​School Principal: Carolyn Watson
​Parish Priest: ​Fr Joseph Vattaparambil
​Assistant Principals: Brian Mason and Nathan Mulhearn
​Parent Members: Leila Winterburn, Ray Comerford, Tricia McNamara, Stuart Goldston, 
Cathy Nixon, Janine Shailer
Staff Representative: Dan Kenyon​
If you would like to contact the School Board, please send an email to the School at:  and mark it to the attention of the School Board.